The Power of Photographs

Ever since I can remember I’ve always loved taking photographs, posing for the camera, striking a pose and smiling. But as I’ve gotten older I’ve realized that pictures really are worth a thousand words. They capture moments in time where you’re happy, sad, excited, in love etc. and the coolest thing about them is that they’re timeless. Photographs have the power to take you back in time, to make you wonder and remember and that’s probably why I hold my photographic memories so close to my heart.

Image

One of my favorite pictures of myself . Five years old in Kindergarden. I still have those big old eyes and smile. I’ll have to try out that “innocent face” and see if it works! ;)

Recently my mom brought out my baby album, we both sat down in her bed and started flipping through the pages,I began to smile as I saw me as newborn and then my transition to a toddler and little girl. She began telling me stories about the outfit I was wearing or what the specific location it was taken. Before we knew a few hours had gone by. One of the biggest reasons why I love photographs is that you’re able to remember those  have passed on to a better life. My grandparents were really close to me and now that they’ve passed away it’s nice to know that I still have many great memories with them stores both in my heart and in my album books.

My inspiration for this specific post came from a website that I came upon early this afternoon. Titled “A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words”  the webpage complies a series of photos that were captured in the moment, some were posed but they all tell a story. Be sure to check them out as some of those pictures are absolutely incredible.

Next time you’re out and about with your family and friends be sure to snap a photo with them  and create that timeless memory. You’ll  never know if you will have the  opportunity to  be with them in the future,  but at least your’ll have a record of all your memories. Even if they’re stored away in your computer or iPhone at least you have taken those photos and if you choose to you can revisit them and relive those moments once again.

♥ Ana

2 thoughts on “The Power of Photographs

  1. You look adorable :) As for photographs? sheer nostalgia at it’s finest. I still have my collection stacked up. Nothing better than viewing those albums every month or so and realising how peaceful and serene it was , back when you were a kid.

Leave a Reply

